The James Attwood Annual Award Lecture & Shield

Each year the CPD in Construction Committee hold an annual award lecture which, is organised by the member Institutions of the Committee in turn. The tradition commenced in 1988 with the lecture given by the late Prof. James Attwood, OBE, FCIOB who, was one of the founders of the Committee.

Since that time an annual award lecture has taken place normally in December of each year to which the Provost of Inverness, members of the Construction Professions and the public are invited.  Below is a list of the Award Lectures and the recipients of the Award which have taken place to date.


1988            CIOB             Prof. J Attwood, OBE.

1989            ICE               P. Malcolmson

1990            RIAS             A.M. Grant

1991            RICS             I.D. Gardiner

1992            I.Struct.E       Prof. E.A. Bolton

1993            RTPI              D. Lyddon

1994            IHT                G.F. Storey

1995            CIWEM          F.G. Johnson

1996            IEE                R.A. Mathews

1997            ICE                A.A.C. Wallace

1998            C.I.ARB         J.D. Spencley

1999            ICES             Prof. D. Parker

2000            IOSH            Margaret Burns

2001            IOM/CIOB     Mike Archbold

2002            IMechE         Prof. Ian Bryden and Prof. Peter Robinson

2003            IAA               Michael Rolland and Michael Stares

2004            RICS             David Sutherland

2005            IEE               Prof Peter Cochrane

2006            EI/IMechE     Prof John Irvine

2007            RAeS              Duncan Simpson

2008            IStructE          Willie Dunbar

2009            IHT                 Ron Munro

2010            CIWEM           Neil Kermode

2011            RTPI              Grant Sword

2012            UHI Vice-Ch'llor James Fraser (CPDC 25th Anniversary)

2013            ICE               Andrew Ross

2014            CICES              Stuart Thomas

2015            IOSH             Prof John Cherrie

2016            IAA              Andrew Wright

2017            CIOB           Michael Martin